Thunderbird District

Scouting in Indiana has a long history, from the 1910s to the present day, serving thousands of youth with programs in Cub Scouts, Scouts, BSA, Venture, Exploring, Sea Scouts and STEM. From the early Calumet Council, formed in 1966 as a result of a merger of the Pokagon Trails Council in Hammond, the Sauk Trails Council in Gary and the Twin City Council in East Chicago, the Pathway to Adventure Council guides over 500 youth in the Thunderbird District communities of Hammond, East Chicago, Whiting, Munster, Highland, Griffith, Dyer, Schererville and St. John.

Thunderbird District Awards Nomination Form 2023
Nomination for the District Award of Merit

Follow Us on Social Media!


District Commissioner
George Tagler

District Chairman
Jesse Casiano

Programming and Activities
Adrienne Winiecki

David Snow

David Shanks

Fiona Groninger-Poe

District Popcorn Kernel
Holly Hill

District Key 3

George Tagler

District Commissioner

Jesse Casiano

District Chairman

Garry Polodna

Sr. District Executive, Thunderbird


Contact George Tagler at for any roundtable information

First Tuesday of the Month (no meeting in July)
Time:  7:00PM
Location:  Robert Welsh Center for Scouting
8751 Calumet Avenue, Munster, IN

Recent Announcements